150205 – Carbs, Weight Loss, and Nutrition

Picture2

As the weather warms up we all typically want to shed a little of the “blubber” that we stored over the winter months and holidays.  Most folks do so for weddings or the beach.  Not that I have anything against six-pack abs, but my motives are from purely a performance standpoint… the Open is near and I don’t want to have to yank my fat a$$ up on the multiple sets of C2B pull-ups I know the Open WODs will entail.  I saw Alicia Griffin the other day… well, a portion of the Alicia I know anyway (you look great BTW), and her weightloss success has motivated me to make some much needed changes.  Enter temporary diet/training plan.  I’ve had my share of disappointing diet failures… mostly because I love pizza, craft brews, and Cocoa Pebbles.  I’ve dabbled with low-carb diets, crash diets, Zone-diets, Paleo, and intermittent fasting but never really stuck with any of them more than a couple of days because of my old mindset of “If the furnace is hot enough, anything will burn”.  This typically worked for me in the past with 70-90mile running weeks, but this little experiment of low-mileage running the last 3 months to get my Oly lifts up, I’ve been forced to take a different approach.  I spent this last week trying to and get my running back up to a respectable level again and have already shed a couple of pounds, but it’s not going to be enough to get back to my optimal BW of ~180#.  As Angie says “Abs are made in the kitchen, not in the gym.”  I’m going to give a valiant effort the next 3-4 weeks to really shed some insulation through my diet… maybe I’ll end up as fast and sexy as Scot.  I’m going to keep this “crash-diet” short-term only with the goal of dropping 12-15lbs before the Open in 3 1/2 weeks… this gives me a goal and a deadline… mentally I need this.  I’ll focus on maintenance after that.

Staying with my motto “keep it simple stupid”, I plan to increase quality protein, eliminate sugar, cut WAY back on carbs in general (the hard part because carbs are where all the fun is) except after grueling efforts (carb reefed), and reduce overall caloric intake to around 1500cal/day.  I’m going to throw in a little intermittent fasting Tues and Thur mornings (i.e. skipping breakfast) which I’ve found to be a really easy and effective way of going without food for ~16 hours to promote fat utilization.  I’m upping my mileage as well to the 40-50mi/week range.  This should be a good combination to help stoke my fat-furnace.

I hope that however boring my next several posts will be (I promise not to post a food log or pics of my meals…dumb), that some readers will examine their own nutrition and maybe even share some successful stories/strategies for enhancing performance or dropping body fat in the comments.  Ideally I want to maintain my hard earned strength gains while shedding fat.  Note, if at anytime I feel my dietary changes negatively affect my performance (i.e. my back squat and C&J goes to crap or I can’t recover from long runs) it will be abandoned immediately (read, eat an entire box of vanilla wafers with milk) without regard to what the scales say or how my abs look.  3, 2, 1, GO!

Great article from Mark’s Daily Apple.  And a good article discussing nutrition here from the CF Journal.

Outlaw – easy active recovery.  Rest well tonight… I have a “surprise” for you Friday morning.  :^)

 

CFV Thur WOD

AMRAP in 15 min of:
10 Power Snatch (95/65)
10 CF Push-Ups
10 T2B
10 Box jump over (24/20)
Standard

One thought on “150205 – Carbs, Weight Loss, and Nutrition

Leave a Reply

