150409 – Power Endurance Revisited

20150407_175044

Nobody will be able to keep up with this guy in 6 months.

***ATTENTION***  I’m collecting old shoes for soles4souls.  If you have any old shoes in the back of your closet you’d like to donate, please bring them to the box before Friday at 6:30pm.  Clean out that closet!!!

As a seasoned ultra-runner, I have developed a very rigid definition of the term “endurance” over the past 15 years.  Running ridiculous distances has shaped my life more than I would sometimes like to admit.  It has taught me many valuable lessons about life in general as well… everyone who has pushed the envelope past the so-called “26 mile marathon wall” knows what I’m talking about.  Pushing oneself past the point of practical limits defies logic to most people, but it’s at these points of 30, 50, and 90 miles, etc, where I’ve learned the most about myself.  Lessons of patience, perseverance, acceptance of fate, and showing myself I could do far more (and at other times, far less) than I thought I was capable of.  Because of the mental aspect of 100mile races, the physical effort is but an afterthought… bull-headed stubbornness to never quit… never ever ever give up, is what finishes the race.  I’ve often said that in a 100 miler you run the first 50 miles with your legs and the last 50 miles with your mind.  True dat.

I’ve had to adjust my way of thinking about my definition of endurance in the role it plays with a barbell the past couple of weeks because of the squat cycle we’ve started at Outlaw.  In an ultra marathon, even if you’re “physically ready”, as the miles wear on and the body fatigues, a runner’s form begins to break down, they get sloppy, and the pace slows down to compensate.  This is completely opposite in the world of weightlifting.  In terms of sheer volume and time, a weightlifting session isn’t even in the same universe with running for 30+ hours, but endurance is still a vital requirement, just in a different sense.  Completing 6 grueling squat sets at near maximal weight is exhausting.  The big difference here is if a runner tires, he can slow down and continue the race/workout… whatever.  If a lifter tires at 2 reps into a 5 rep set with 3 sets left to go, he/she doesn’t have the option of decreasing intensity or pushing with less force… they must continue to exert near maximal effort to get the job done, or FAIL… period.  I find this interesting, and the lesson I take from it will likely come as an advantage to my running later on,  if only mentally.

Brant commented to me after Wednesday morning’s session “I liked the intensity today… we need more of that.”  Agreed.  Intensity is the driving force behind progress athletically.  You can’t get strong by high-rep/low-weight lifting…  And again from the mental side, knowing you’re going into a workout with 9 heavy sets of back-crushing weight forces you to dig deep into that Dark Place and find that emotionally-driven intensity.  I’m sure everyone has their own strategy, but I find it helpful to use negative mental imagery to accomplish this… thinking about painful times in my life elicits an emotional response that gives me goose-bumps and enables me to lift school busses.  A therapist might argue this isn’t very healthy, but it works for me.  I wrote about the mental aspect of performance HERE.  Find what “whip” works for you and use it… lots of work left to do in the next 5 weeks.

“If you want to be a lion, you must train with lions.”  #cfvoutlaws

Outlaw 150411

This is actually Saturday’s work.  You should be feeling pretty beat-up after Wednesday morning… take Thursday OFF.  Don’t do the training if you don’t have the guts to rest.

1) snatch – 1×5@50%, 1×5@60%, 1×5@70%, 2×3@80%

2) Jerk behind neck – 1×5@50%, 1×5@60%, 1×5@70%, 2×3@80%

3) Rdl (based on 1 rm clean) – 1×5@50%, 1×5@60%, 1×5@70%, 2×3@80%

 

CFV Thur WOD

For Time:
500m Row (sub 1 SDHP/10m @ 45/33)
150 Double Unders
50 Burpees
Standard

Leave a Reply

